WIN,YG’s Strategy to Satisfy Both Itself and the Public



YG Entertainment’s founder YANG HYUN SUK came up with a surprising strategy.

On August 20, the Production Sneak Preview of ‘Who Is Next: WIN’, which will determine the formation of YG’s first boy group, was held at Conrad Hotel in Seoul Yeouido.

This program gives the audience the responsibility of voting in the next boy group of YG named WINNER. On the program, CEO Yang will only be giving advice to the trainees while giving the viewers the right to vote.

The 11 members who are part of the program have been training at YG for years. YG has not produced a single boy group since 2006, and now the entertainment agency is asking the viewers to help its boy group make a debut.

YANG HYUN SUK, going hand in hand with the cable channels Mnet and tvN, has a strategy that can both satisfy the public and YG trainees. Between Teams A and B, one group can make a debut without even going through promotion activities, and even the losing team can raise awareness among the public through appearing on television every week.

CEO Yang commented, “Until now, we show a plan of our groups to the public and ask, ‘we have something like this in mind, what do you think?’ but now we are giving that right completely to the viewers. I think it’s right that the group the public wants make a debut first. And this can be a chance for the losing team to reveal themselves to the public.”

He continued, “Frankly, you can think ‘they lost so their team will break up’, but I am thinking they could maybe also make a debut next year or the year after that. Realistically, I think it’s impossible to make it sooner.”

He added, “The two teams are remarkable. If there is a loser, then that person will not make a debut. I am not here to deceive the audience. But there is a possibility of member change or breakup of the group.”

Group A consists 5 members including the ex-contestant of Superstar K2 and the recently debuted KANG SEUNG YOON, and the ex-contestant of K-Pop Star, LEE SEUNG HOON. The average age is 20 years old. Group B consists of 6 members with an average age of 17 years old, and among them is the then 12-year-old boy rapper B.I who featured in MC Mong’s ‘Indian Boy’.

‘WHO IS NEXT: WIN’ will be aired every Friday at 10 p.m. on Mnet.

Source: YG Life Blog


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s